Members of the Czech Fiscal Council



The Czech Fiscal Council is a three-member body. It consists of a Chairperson and two other members. The Chamber of Deputies elects the Chairperson on a proposal of the government and the other two members on a proposal of the Senate and the Czech National Bank, respectively.

To qualify for appointment to the Czech Fiscal Council, one must be acknowledged and accomplished in the field of finance or macroeconomics and possess a minimum of ten years’ relevant experience as well as a master’s degree. At present, the Czech Fiscal Council is represented by:

Chairwoman of the Council
doc. Ing. Eva Zamrazilová, CSc. (* 1961)

mandate 2018 – 2024

Eva Zamrazilová is a leading Czech economist who served on the Board of the Czech National Bank between 2008 and 2014. She completed her master’s and doctoral studies at the University of Economics, Prague, and began teaching statistics theory and economic statistics there in 1990. Concurrently, as a researcher at the Institute of Forecasting at the same university, she participated in many studies on the transformation of the Czech economy. She also worked at the Economic Institute of the Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences and the Research Institute of Labour and Social Affairs. Since 1994, she worked at Komerční banka on its Macroeconomic Analysis and Forecasting team. In February 2008, the President of the Czech Republic appointed her to the Board of the Czech National Bank; she took office on 1 March 2008. After concluding her six-year mandate, she became the Chief Economist of the Czech Banking Association in 2014. Four years later, in January 2018, she was appointed Chairwoman of the Czech Fiscal Council. She continues to lecture macroeconomic analysis at the University of Economics, Prague. Eva Zamrazilova’s first-term mandate at the Czech Fiscal Council is for six years.


Member of the Council
Ing. Mojmír Hampl, MSc Ph.D (* 1975)

mandate 2021 – 2027


Mojmír Hampl, a leading Czech economist, began his career in 1998 as an analyst in the Czech National Bank’s Monetary Department. Between 2002 and 2004, he worked as a macroeconomist at Česka spořitelna – ERSTE Group. From 2004 to 2006 he worked as a member of the Management Board and Chief Executive Officer of the Czech Consolidation Agency. In 2006, he was elected a member of the CNB Bank Board, where he served as Deputy Governor from March 2008 to November 2018. From 2019 to 2021, he was Director of Financial Sector Services at KPMG Czech Republic. He currently teaches at Tomas Bata University in Zlín and the University of Economics in Prague. He is also devoted to financial and economic education in his leisure time – he is a co-founder and member of the Board of Directors of the Institute for Economic Education INEV. He was elected to the Czech Fiscal Council in December 2021 by the Chamber of Deputies, on a proposal from the Senate for a six-year term.


Member of the Council
prof. Ing. Jan Pavel, Ph.D. (* 1978)

mandate 2018 – 2026

Jan Pavel is a respected figure in the academic sphere. Within his pedagogical activities, he has a long-lasting devotion to public finance, the theory of budgetary and fiscal policy, and public sector efficiency. From 2003 to 2006, he worked at the Ministry of Finance of the Czech Republic, and since 2005, has been part of the Department of Public Finance at the University of Economics, Prague. Jan Pavel is the author or co-author of numerous publications, research papers, and expert articles both in the Czech Republic and abroad. He became a professor in 2015, and in January 2018, the Chamber of Deputies elected him to the Czech Fiscal Council on a proposal of the Czech National Bank for a two-year term. He was re-elected for another six-year term, which he began serving in January 2020.